spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceShipTwo flies to space from New Mexico
Posted: Tue, May 25 8:01 PM ET (0001 GMT)
Virgin Galactic's SpaceShipTwo suborbital spaceplane made its first flight to the edge of space in more than two years Saturday. The VSS Unity vehicle...

Chinese rover rolls onto Martian surface
Posted: Tue, May 25 7:55 PM ET (2355 GMT)
China's Zhurong rover rolled onto the surface of Mars late Friday, a week after landing. The six-wheeled rover went down a ramp and...

Firefly selects SpaceX for launch of lunar lander
Posted: Tue, May 25 7:51 PM ET (2351 GMT)
Firefly Aerospace selected SpaceX to launch its first lunar lander mission. Firefly announced Thursday its Blue Ghost lunar lander will launch on a Falcon 9...

ESA awards contracts for commercial lunar satellites
Posted: Tue, May 25 7:45 PM ET (2345 GMT)
ESA has awarded study contracts to two industry groups to work on concepts for lunar communications and navigation systems. Under the Moonlight program, consortia led...

China launches ocean science satellite
Posted: Tue, May 25 7:40 PM ET (2340 GMT)
China launched an ocean science satellite May 19. A Long March 4B rocket carrying the Haiyang-2D satellite lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch...

Atlas 5 launches missile warning satellite
Posted: Fri, May 21 4:59 PM ET (2059 GMT)
An Atlas 5 successfully launched a missile warning satellite and two cubesats Tuesday. The rocket lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 1:37 pm EDT (...

Astronaut added to commercial crew mission
Posted: Fri, May 21 4:52 PM ET (2052 GMT)
NASA added an astronaut to a commercial crew mission launching this fall. NASA said Monday that Kayla Barron will be part of the Crew-3...

Falcon 9 launches Starlink satellites and rideshare payloads
Posted: Fri, May 21 4:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)
SpaceX launched a set of Starlink satellites and two rideshare payloads Saturday. The Falcon 9 lifted off from the Kennedy Space Center at 6:56...

Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Fri, May 21 4:46 PM ET (2046 GMT)
A Rocket Lab Electron rocket failed to reach orbit Saturday, the second failure in less than a year for the small launch vehicle. The Electron...

Chinese rover lands on Mars
Posted: Fri, May 21 4:43 PM ET (2043 GMT)
China's Zhurong rover successfully landed on the surface of Mars May 14. The lander safely made it to the surface in the Utopia Planitia...



news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 23
Space War, Like the Cold War, Is All Risk, No Reward
Air Force Magazine — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
FAA considering plan to land space vehicles near Madison
Madison (AL) Record — 6:33 am ET (1033 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list