spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)
Two Russian cosmonauts spent seven and a half hours outside the International Space Station Thursday. Oleg Novitskiy and Pyotr Dubrov conducted their second spacewalk in...

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
China launched a GEO communications satellite Thursday. A Long March 3B lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center, southwest China, at 7:50 am...

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)
Russia launched a reconnaissance satellite Thursday. A Soyuz-2.1v rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 3:59 pm EDT (...

SpaceX to launch next Thuraya satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:36 AM ET (1336 GMT)
SpaceX will launch the next Thuraya satellite for Yahsat, the companies announced Wednesday. The Thuraya 4-NGS satellite, being built by Airbus, will launch on...

Rocket Lab wins launch contract for IoT constellation
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:33 AM ET (1333 GMT)
Rocket Lab won a multi-launch contract for a French IoT satellite constellation. Kinéis will launch 25 satellites on five Electron launches starting in...

First Firefly Alpha launch fails
Posted: Sat, Sep 4 1:06 PM ET (1706 GMT)
Firefly Aerospace's first Alpha launch ended with an explosion two and a half minutes after liftoff Thursday. The rocket lifted off from Vandenberg Space...

FAA grounds SpaceShipTwo to investigate issue on July flight
Posted: Sat, Sep 4 1:03 PM ET (1703 GMT)
The FAA has grounded Virgin Galactic's SpaceShipTwo while an investigation into a problem on the vehicle's July flight continues. The FAA said Thursday...

Landsat 9 launch delayed by LOX shortage
Posted: Sat, Sep 4 12:59 PM ET (1659 GMT)
NASA doesn't expect additional delays to the launch of the Landsat 9 spacecraft caused by a lack of liquid nitrogen at its launch site....

Falcon 9 launches Dragon cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sat, Sep 4 12:58 PM ET (1658 GMT)
A Dragon cargo spacecraft launched to the International Space Station after SpaceX's first launch in two months Sunday. A Falcon 9 lifted off from...

Astra Rocket 3.3 launch fails
Posted: Sat, Sep 4 12:57 PM ET (1657 GMT)
Astra's Rocket 3.3 failed to reach orbit Aug. 28 when a engine failed immediately after liftoff. The rocket lifted off at 6:35...



news in brief
Soyuz launches OneWeb satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 6:09 PM ET (2209 GMT)


JWST arrives in French Guiana
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 5:56 PM ET (2156 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 23
"Space is no longer science fiction”
Delano — 3:37 am ET (0737 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list