spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astra Rocket 3.3 launch fails
Posted: Sat, Sep 4, 2021, 12:57 PM ET (1657 GMT)
Astra's Rocket 3.3 failed to reach orbit Aug. 28 when a engine failed immediately after liftoff. The rocket lifted off at 6:35 pm EDT (2235 GMT) from Kodiak, Alaska, but suffered a failure of one of its five first-stage engines less than a second later. The rocket drifted sideways for about 15 seconds until it burned off enough propellant that it was light enough that it could ascend under the remaining four engines. However, the range commanded a shutdown of those engines two and a half minutes after liftoff because the vehicle was outside its approved corridor, terminating the flight. Astra said it didn't know why the engine failed, but didn't believe it was linked to a scrub the previous day when the engines ignited but shut down when their thrust failed to ramp up as fast as expected. Astra shares were down by as much as 25% in pre-market trading Monday morning.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list