spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches Dragon cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sat, Sep 4, 2021, 12:58 PM ET (1658 GMT)
A Dragon cargo spacecraft launched to the International Space Station after SpaceX's first launch in two months Sunday. A Falcon 9 lifted off from the Kennedy Space Center at 3:14 am EDT (0714 GMT) and placed the Dragon into orbit. The spacecraft, carrying about 2,200 kilograms of cargo, docked with the station at 10:30 am EDT (1430 GMT) Monday. The launch was the first for SpaceX since a rideshare mission at the end of June, a hiatus caused at least in part by delays in incorporating laser crosslinks into future Starlink satellites. This launch was also the first to use a new SpaceX droneship, "A Shortfall of Gravitas," for the booster landing.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list