spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Indian GSLV launch fails
Posted: Fri, Aug 13, 2021, 6:27 PM ET (2227 GMT)
GLSV before failed F10 launch (ISRO) The launch of an Earth imaging satellite on an Indian rocket failed when the rocket's upper stage engine did not ignite. The Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) Mark 2 rocket lifted off at 8:13 pm EDT Wednesday (0013 GMT Thursday) from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre carrying the EOS-03 satellite. The first two stages of the rocket performed as planned, but the upper stage appeared to lose attitude control shortly after separation. The Indian space agency ISRO later said the launch "could not be fully accomplished" when the cryogenic engine in the upper stage failed to ignite. The failure is the first for the GSLV Mark 2 since its inaugural flight in 2010 that also suffered an upper stage malfunction. EOS-03, formerly known as GISAT-1, was to provide images of India and the surrounding region from geostationary orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list