spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon Heavy to launch first Gateway elements
Posted: Sun, Feb 14 9:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)
A Falcon Heavy will launch the first modules of the lunar Gateway. NASA said Tuesday it awarded a contract to SpaceX for the Falcon Heavy...

Chinese Mars mission enters orbit
Posted: Sun, Feb 14 9:47 AM ET (1447 GMT)
China's Tianwen-1 spacecraft went into orbit around Mars early Wednesday. The spacecraft fired its main engine for about 15 minutes shortly before 7...

UAE Hope spacecraft arrives at Mars
Posted: Sun, Feb 14 9:44 AM ET (1444 GMT)
The UAE's Hope spacecraft entered orbit around Mars Tuesday. The spacecraft fired its thrusters for 27 minutes, slowing the spacecraft down enough to be...

Thales Alenia to build Telesat LEO constellation
Posted: Sun, Feb 14 9:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)
Telesat has selected Thales Alenia Space to build its low Earth orbit constellation. Telesat said that the 298-satellite system, which it now calls Lightspeed,...

Lockheed Martin selects ABL for UK launch
Posted: Sun, Feb 14 9:33 AM ET (1433 GMT)
Lockheed Martin has selected ABL Space Systems to carry out a launch from the United Kingdom next year. Lockheed said ABL will perform the UK...

China launches military satellite
Posted: Sat, Feb 13 11:26 AM ET (1626 GMT)
China launched what it called an experimental communications satellite Feb. 4. A Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at...

White House expresses support for NASA's Artemis program
Posted: Sat, Feb 13 11:25 AM ET (1625 GMT)
The White House said Feb. 4 it endorsed NASA's Artemis lunar exploration program, but offered no details on budgets or schedules. At a briefing,...

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 13 11:24 AM ET (1624 GMT)
SpaceX launched another batch of Starlink satellites early Feb. 4 in the first of what was intended to be back-to-back missions. The Falcon...

Soyuz launches Russian intelligence satellite
Posted: Sat, Feb 13 11:23 AM ET (1623 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket launched a Russian military satellite Feb. 2. The Soyuz-2.1b rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at...

SpaceX launches Starship SN9
Posted: Sat, Feb 13 11:22 AM ET (1622 GMT)
For the second time in less than two months, SpaceX launched a prototype of its Starship vehicle on a suborbital test flight Feb. 2, only...



news in brief
Blue Origin postpones first New Glenn launch to late 2022
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Virgin Galactic again delays SpaceShipTwo flights
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

China launches ocean reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 28
The American Dream Is Alive on Mars
Wall Street Journal — 7:42 pm ET (0042 GMT)
Rocket for Anders Holch Povlsen on Sutherland spaceport
Sunday Times of London — 8:56 am ET (1356 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list