spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astra to go public through SPAC merger
Posted: Fri, Feb 5 6:33 PM ET (2333 GMT)
Small launch vehicle company Astra announced Tuesday it will go public by merging with a special-purpose acquisition company (SPAC). Astra said it will merge...

Billionaire to buy Crew Dragon flight
Posted: Fri, Feb 5 6:30 PM ET (2330 GMT)
A billionaire entrepreneur has purchased a Crew Dragon flight from SpaceX, and will use contests to fill some of its seats. Jared Isaacman, the founder...

Astronauts perform ISS spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Feb 5 6:26 PM ET (2326 GMT)
Astronauts sped through their tasks outside the space station during a spacewalk Monday. Mike Hopkins and Victor Glover completed the installation of a new battery...

Chinese commercial launch fails
Posted: Fri, Feb 5 6:22 PM ET (2322 GMT)
A Chinese commercial launch failed early Monday. The Hyperbola-1 rocket by iSpace launched from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at about 3 am EST (...

NASA to perform second Green Run static-fire test
Posted: Fri, Feb 5 6:21 PM ET (2321 GMT)
NASA will perform a second static-fire test of the Space Launch System core stage. NASA said Jan. 29 that it would conduct a second...

China launches military reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jan 30 9:48 AM ET (1448 GMT)
China launched a set of military reconnaissance satellites Friday. The Long March 4C rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 11:47...

SXM-7 satellite malfunctions after launch
Posted: Sat, Jan 30 9:45 AM ET (1445 GMT)
A satellite launched for SiriusXM last month is malfunctioning. Sirius XM and satellite manufacturer Maxar Technologies said Wednesday that the SXM-7 satellite, launched Dec....

Astronauts encounter cable problems during spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Jan 30 9:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
Spacewalking astronauts ran into problems installing an experiment platform outside the International Space Station Wednesday. Astronauts Mike Hopkins and Victor Glover spent nearly seven hours...

Axiom Space announces crew of first private ISS mission
Posted: Sat, Jan 30 9:38 AM ET (1438 GMT)
Axiom Space announced on Tuesday the crew of its first private mission to the ISS next year. The Ax-1 mission, scheduled for launch no...

SpaceX launches record number of satellites on Falcon 9 mission
Posted: Sat, Jan 30 9:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)
SpaceX set a record Sunday by launching 143 small satellites on a single Falcon 9. The rocket launched from Cape Canaveral at 10 am EST (...



news in brief
Blue Origin postpones first New Glenn launch to late 2022
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Virgin Galactic again delays SpaceShipTwo flights
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

China launches ocean reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 28
The American Dream Is Alive on Mars
Wall Street Journal — 7:42 pm ET (0042 GMT)
Rocket for Anders Holch Povlsen on Sutherland spaceport
Sunday Times of London — 8:56 am ET (1356 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list