spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Chinese Mars mission enters orbit
Posted: Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 9:47 AM ET (1447 GMT)
China's Tianwen-1 spacecraft went into orbit around Mars early Wednesday. The spacecraft fired its main engine for about 15 minutes shortly before 7 am EST (1200 GMT), inserting the spacecraft into an orbit of 400 by 180,000 kilometers around the planet. Tianwen-1 will gradually lower its orbit to allow for observations of Mars. It will also begin preparations for the entry, descent and landing attempt of a 240-kilogram solar-powered rover, expected to take place in May.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin postpones first New Glenn launch to late 2022
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Virgin Galactic again delays SpaceShipTwo flights
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

China launches ocean reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 28
The American Dream Is Alive on Mars
Wall Street Journal — 7:42 pm ET (0042 GMT)
Rocket for Anders Holch Povlsen on Sutherland spaceport
Sunday Times of London — 8:56 am ET (1356 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list