spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
An Electron rocket malfunctioned during a launch Saturday, preventing its payload of seven satellites from reaching orbit. The Electron lifted off from Rocket Lab's...

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)
The British government joined forces with an Indian telecom company to secure the winning bid for the assets of satellite megaconstellation company OneWeb, they announced...

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)
A Long March 4B rocked launched the latest in a series of high-resolution remote sensing satellites Thursday. The rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan...

Astronauts perform second battery replacement spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:26 PM ET (0026 GMT)
Astronauts completed a set of battery replacements outside the International Space Station Wednesday. Bob Behnken and Chris Cassidy conducted a six-hour spacewalk to finish...

SpaceX launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)
SpaceX launched a GPS satellite Tuesday afternoon. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 4:10 pm EDT (2010 GMT) and deployed...

Mars 2020 launch slips
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:22 PM ET (0022 GMT)
A launch vehicle issue has delayed the launch of NASA's Mars 2020 mission to the end of this month. NASA announced late Tuesday that...

Astronauts begin swap of space station batteries in spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Jun 28 7:19 PM ET (2319 GMT)
Two NASA astronauts spent a little more than six hours outside the International Space Station Friday beginning a final series of battery replacements. Bob Behnken...

Virgin Galactic conducts second SpaceShipTwo flight from Spaceport America
Posted: Sun, Jun 28 7:17 PM ET (2317 GMT)
Virgin Galactic says it's ready to resume powered test flights of SpaceShipTwo after a successful glide test Thursday. The flight was the second of...

NASA starts process to certify commercial suborbital vehicles for astronauts
Posted: Fri, Jun 26 5:08 PM ET (2108 GMT)
NASA is taking the first steps toward allowing astronauts and other agency personnel to fly on commercial suborbital vehicles. NASA announced Tuesday it created a "...

China launches Beidou satellite, completes constellation
Posted: Fri, Jun 26 5:06 PM ET (2106 GMT)
China launched a Beidou spacecraft Monday night, completing the country's satellite navigation system. A Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite...



news in brief
SpaceX and ULA win military launch contracts
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:15 PM ET (2115 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink, BlackSky satellites
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:09 PM ET (2109 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:07 PM ET (2107 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, August 11
GPS III SV03 Receives Operational Acceptance
US Air Force — 5:59 am ET (0959 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list