spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts begin swap of space station batteries in spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 7:19 PM ET (2319 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2020 June 26 (NASA) Two NASA astronauts spent a little more than six hours outside the International Space Station Friday beginning a final series of battery replacements. Bob Behnken and Chris Cassidy started the six-hour, seven-minute spacewalk at 7:32 am EDT (1132 GMT) and quickly moved their assigned tasks to replace existing nickel-hydrogen batteries with new lithium-ion ones. The two got through all their planned tasks for the initial spacewalk and started tasks planned for a second spacewalk. The spacewalk is the first in a series of at least four NASA plans to carry out through July to complete the replacement of batteries used in the station's power system, an effort that started in 2017. NASA is taking advantage of the additional crew on the station during the Demo-2 commercial crew mission to perform the spacewalk; Behnken, one of the two astronauts who arrived on the station nearly a month earlier on that Crew Dragon spacecraft, has extensive spacewalking experience, as does Cassidy.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 5
Array of radio telescopes reveals explosion on the surface of a hot dead star
European Astronomical Society — 12:54 pm ET (1654 GMT)
Starliner Parachutes Perform Under Pressure
Boeing — 12:52 pm ET (1652 GMT)
Astronomy on Tap Going Virtual and Viral
European Astronomical Society — 12:51 pm ET (1651 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list