spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Crew Dragon returns to Earth
Posted: Sat, Mar 9 9:07 AM ET (1407 GMT)
SpaceX's Crew Dragon spacecraft successfully splashed down in the Atlantic Ocean Friday morning, ending a successful uncrewed test flight to the International Space station....

Secretary of the Air Force to step down
Posted: Sat, Mar 9 9:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)
Secretary of the Air Force Heather Wilson, who has played a key role in military space activities, will step down this spring. Wilson informed President...

First SLS launch could be delayed again
Posted: Sat, Mar 9 9:04 AM ET (1404 GMT)
A NASA official said Tuesday that the agency is "reassessing" the 2020 date for the first launch of the Space Launch System, suggesting further delays...

Canadian space strategy emphasizes key technologies
Posted: Sat, Mar 9 9:03 AM ET (1403 GMT)
Participation in the lunar Gateway is the centerpiece of Canada's new national space strategy. That strategy, released this week, emphasizes plans announced last week...

Rocket Lab launch slips to second half of March
Posted: Sat, Mar 9 9:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
Rocket Lab is now targeting the second half of March for its first Electron launch of the year. The company said Wednesday it plans to...

NASA approves plans for SpaceX commercial crew test flight
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 5:30 PM ET (2230 GMT)
NASA and SpaceX completed a flight readiness review Friday that allows the company to move ahead with an upcoming uncrewed test of its commercial crew...

SpaceShipTwo flies to the edge of space again
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 5:29 PM ET (2229 GMT)
Virgin Galactic's SpaceShipTwo suborbital vehicle flew its highest flight to date Friday and the first to carry more than two people on board. VSS...

SpaceX launches communications satellite, lunar lander
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 5:27 PM ET (2227 GMT)
A SpaceX Falcon 9 successfully launched a communications satellite and lunar lander Thursday night. The Falcon 9 lifted off on schedule at 8:45 pm...

Soyuz launches Egyptian satellite despite upper stage problem
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 5:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)
An Egyptian satellite made it to orbit Thursday despite an apparent problem with its Soyuz rocket. The Soyuz-2.1b rocket launched from the Baikonur...

Hayabusa2 touches down on asteroid
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 5:25 PM ET (2225 GMT)
Japan's Hayabusa2 spacecraft made a successful touch-and-go landing on the asteroid Ryugu Thursday. Telemetry from the spacecraft indicated that it touched down...



news in brief
NASA releases ISS commercialization plans
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)

NASA to try new approach to fix InSight instrument
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)

Virgin Orbit planning spaceports in Britain and Japan
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:45 AM ET (1345 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 15
County preps for SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Arizona Challenger Space Center to get new life in 2020
Arizona Republic — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Mars can wait. First let’s terraform Earth.
Houston Chronicle — 10:24 am ET (1424 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list