spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches Egyptian satellite despite upper stage problem
Posted: Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 5:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)
An Egyptian satellite made it to orbit Thursday despite an apparent problem with its Soyuz rocket. The Soyuz-2.1b rocket launched from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 11:47 am EST (1647 GMT), placing the EgyptSat-A remote sensing satellite into orbit. Russian media reported that there was a problem with the rocket's Fregat upper stage during the flight, but that the upper stage compensated for the problem with a longer second burn. Arianespace CEO Stephane Israel tweeted that the Soyuz launch of the first set of OneWeb satellites, which was scheduled for Feb. 26, will be delayed by one day because of the "non-nominal third-stage behavior" on Thursday's launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Technical issues postpone SpaceX Starlink launch
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)

House bill offers $22.3 billion for NASA
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

White House seeks additional $1.6 billion for 2024 Moon landing
Posted: Sun, May 19 11:07 AM ET (1507 GMT)

news links
Sunday, May 26
Wings Over the Rockies Announces Apollopalooza Schedule
PR Newswire — 11:29 am ET (1529 GMT)
GPSIA Applauds Senate Passage of GPS Resolution
GPS Alliance — 11:28 am ET (1528 GMT)
CUMULOS Takes Nighttime Images of Major Global Cities
Aerospace Corporation — 11:16 am ET (1516 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list