spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, Apr 1 9:50 AM ET (1350 GMT)
Russia launched a military satellite Thursday. A Soyuz-2.1v lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome at 1:38 pm EDT (1738 GMT) carrying a...

China launches Beidou satellites
Posted: Sun, Apr 1 9:44 AM ET (1344 GMT)
China launched another pair of navigation satellites Thursday. A Long March 3B lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 1:56 p.m....

SpaceX wins FCC approval for satellite broadband constellation
Posted: Sun, Apr 1 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)
The FCC formally authorized SpaceX's plans for a broadband satellite constellation, but the company didn't get everything it asked for. The FCC said...

Blue Origin changes engines in New Glenn second stage
Posted: Sun, Apr 1 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
Blue Origin has changed one part of the design of its New Glenn orbital rocket. The company quietly tweaked the design of the large rocket,...

GSLV launches GSAT-6A communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Apr 1 9:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
An Indian rocket successfully launched a communications satellite Thursday. The Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) Mark 2 rocket lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space...

Relativity Space raises $35 million for 3D-printing rockets
Posted: Sun, Apr 1 9:29 AM ET (1329 GMT)
Relativity Space, a company using 3D-printing technologies to manufacture launch vehicles, has raised $35 million. Playground Global, a fund co-founded by former Google...

NASA delays launch of James Webb Space Telescope to 2020
Posted: Sun, Apr 1 9:26 AM ET (1326 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday another major delay in the launch of the James Webb Space Telescope. The agency said the mission is now expected to launch...

Space Systems Loral wins two satellite orders
Posted: Sun, Apr 1 9:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)
Space Systems Loral scored a pair of satellite orders Monday. In addition to a deal announced early Monday to build the Amos-8 satellite for...

White House releases national space strategy
Posted: Sun, Apr 1 9:20 AM ET (1320 GMT)
The White House announced a new National Space Strategy March 23 that fits into the administration's "America First" policies. The strategy, which itself was...

NASA receives more than $20.7 billion in final 2018 omnibus spending bill
Posted: Sun, Mar 25 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)
An omnibus spending bill provides NASA with more than $20.7 billion for fiscal year 2018. The bill, released Wednesday evening after intense negotiations, offers...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list