spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Chandrayaan-3 lands safely on the Moon
Posted: Sat, Aug 26, 2023, 12:11 PM ET (1611 GMT)
India's Chandrayaan-3 spacecraft successfully landed on the moon Wednesday morning. The spacecraft touched down in the south polar regions of the moon at about 8:33 am EDT (1233 GMT) after a final descent phase. India is only the fourth country, after the former Soviet Union, United States and China to successfully soft-land a spacecraft on the moon, and is the first to land in the south polar regions, of scientific interest because of the potential presence of water ice there. The lander will deploy a small rover, Pragyan, with both expected to operate for about 12 days until lunar nightfall.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches first NASA PREFIRE cubesat
Posted: Mon, May 27 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)

NASA and Boeing set June 1 launch date for Starliner
Posted: Mon, May 27 9:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, May 26 11:33 AM ET (1533 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 28


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list