spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


North Korean spysat launch fails again
Posted: Sat, Aug 26, 2023, 12:14 PM ET (1614 GMT)
For the second time in three months, a North Korean spy satellite has failed to reach orbit. A Chollima-1 rocket lifted off from a launch site in Tongchang-ri, North Korea, at 2:40 pm EDT (1840 GMT) Wednesday. However, North Korea's news agency said the launch failed because of an "error in the emergency blasting system" in the rocket's third stage. Debris from the rocket fell into the ocean east of the Philippines. The rocket was carrying a military reconnaissance satellite called Malligyong-1. A similar launch at the end of May also failed, but in an earlier phase of the rocket's flight.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches first NASA PREFIRE cubesat
Posted: Mon, May 27 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)

NASA and Boeing set June 1 launch date for Starliner
Posted: Mon, May 27 9:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, May 26 11:33 AM ET (1533 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 28


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list