spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches second lunar lander mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 15, 2023, 7:32 AM ET (1132 GMT)
LVM-3 launch of Chandrayaan-3 (ISRO) India successfully launched its second lunar lander mission early Friday. An LVM-3 rocket lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 5:05 am EDT (0905 GMT) and deployed the Chandrayaan-3 spacecraft into a transfer orbit. The spacecraft will gradually raise its orbit until can perform a translunar injection maneuver, reaching lunar orbit in early August. The spacecraft will attempt a landing near the south polar region of the moon in late August. Chandrayaan-3 is India's second attempt to land on the moon; the Chandrayaan-2 lander crashed during a 2019 landing attempt.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
IM-1 lands on the Moon but falls on its side
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:46 AM ET (1446 GMT)

Long March 5 launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from Vandenberg
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:36 AM ET (1436 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, February 27


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list