spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29, 2023, 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)
Japan launched a military reconnaissance satellite Wednesday night. The H-2A rocket lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center at 8:49 pm EST (0149 GMT Thursday) carrying the IGS Radar 7 satellite. The spacecraft is the latest in a series of radar mapping satellites used by Japan's military to monitor North Korea as well as for civilian disaster response. With this launch, only four more H-2A launches are planned before the vehicle is retired. It will be replaced by the H3 rocket, slated to perform its first launch next month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
IM-1 lands on the Moon but falls on its side
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:46 AM ET (1446 GMT)

Long March 5 launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from Vandenberg
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:36 AM ET (1436 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, February 27


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list