spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29, 2023, 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)
SpaceX launched another set of Starlink satellites early Thursday. A Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 4:32 am EST (0932 GMT), deploying 56 Starlink satellites into low Earth orbit. The rocket's first stage, making its ninth flight, landed on a droneship in the Atlantic. This was the second launch of Starlink satellites to orbits authorized by the FCC for the "Gen2" second-generation Starlink system, although the satellites appear similar to those in the first-generation constellation. SpaceX said the combined mass of the satellites, more than 17.4 metric tons, made it the heaviest payload launched by the Falcon 9.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
IM-1 lands on the Moon but falls on its side
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:46 AM ET (1446 GMT)

Long March 5 launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from Vandenberg
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:36 AM ET (1436 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, February 27


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list