spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches communications, classified satellites
Posted: Sat, Jan 21, 2023, 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)
China launched a small GEO communications satellite Jan. 12. A Long March 2C lifted off at 1:10 pm EST (1810 GMT) from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center and placed the Apstar-6E satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit. The spacecraft, weighing less than two metric tons, will use electric propulsion to reach GEO and provide service for APT Satellite. A Long March 2D lifted off at 2:00 am EST (0700 GMT) Jan. 13 from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center and placed into orbit Yaogan-37, Shiyan-22A and Shiyan-22B. Chinese state media state that the satellites will be used for in-orbit technology validation, but likely have military applications.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 1
SpaceX's Starlink is active in Africa for the first time
Business Insider — 7:32 am ET (1232 GMT)
Bronco Space launches PROVES satellite into orbit
Cal Poly Ponoma Poly Post — 7:28 am ET (1228 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list