spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz rockets launch classified, communications satellites
Posted: Sun, Oct 30, 2022, 9:54 AM ET (1354 GMT)
One Soyuz rocket launched a pair of classified satellites Oct. 21. The Soyuz-2.1v rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 3:20 pm EDT (1920 GMT) after several days of delays. The purpose of the classified payloads is unknown, but there is speculation they could be experimental spacecraft for testing satellite inspection techniques. Another Soyuz lifted off Oct. 22 carrying four communications satellites. The Soyuz launched from the Vostochny Cosmodrome in Russia's far east at 3:57 pm EDT (1957 GMT). The rocket carried three Gonets satellites for a low Earth orbit communications system, as well as a fourth satellite, Skif-D, intended to serve as a prototype for Russia's proposed Sphere broadband constellation.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Shenzhou-15 crewed mission to space station
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)

Vega C to launch five Copernicus missions
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

Cargo Dragon sent to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)

news links


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list