spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First Artemis 1 launch attempt scrubbed
Posted: Sat, Sep 3, 2022, 6:11 AM ET (1011 GMT)
NASA scrubbed its first attempt to launch the Artemis 1 mission this morning after encountering a problem with one of the Space Launch System's core stage engines. NASA called off the launch shortly after the scheduled 8:33 am EDT (1233 GMT) liftoff and more than an hour into an unplanned hold at T-40 minutes. The hold was prompted by a problem flowing liquid hydrogen into one of four RS-25 engines in the core stage to thermally condition them ahead of launch, called a hydrogen kickstart. Several troubleshooting attempts failed to resolve the problem. That hydrogen kickstart was not tested on the last wet dress rehearsal in June because of a leak in a quick-disconnect fitting in a liquid hydrogen line that was later replaced. The next launch opportunity for the Artemis 1 mission is no earlier than Friday, depending on how long it takes to correct the problem. The mission is the long-delayed first launch of the SLS, established by a 2010 NASA authorization act that called for the vehicle to be ready by the end of 2016.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, September 28


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list