spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches Landsat 9
Posted: Sat, Oct 2, 2021, 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)
An Atlas 5 launched the latest Landsat Earth observation satellite Monday. The Atlas 5 lifted off from Vandenberg Space Force Base at 2:12 pm EDT (1812 GMT) and deployed the Landsat 9 satellite into sun-synchronous orbit an hour and 20 minutes later. Landsat 9 is similar to the existing Landsat 8 spacecraft, with some improvements in its instruments, and will operate in conjunction with Landsat 8. The new Landsat will ensure the continuity of data from the Landsat series of spacecraft dating back nearly half a century. The launch also carried four smallsat secondary payloads, two science satellites sponsored by NASA and two technology demonstrations from CesiumAstro.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches OneWeb satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 6:09 PM ET (2209 GMT)


JWST arrives in French Guiana
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 5:56 PM ET (2156 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 23
"Space is no longer science fiction”
Delano — 3:37 am ET (0737 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list