spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Long March 6 launches nine satellites
Posted: Sat, May 1, 2021, 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)
Long March 6 launch, April 2021 (Xinhua) A Chinese launch Tuesday included, as one of its payloads, a technology demonstration satellite for asteroid mining. A Long March 6 rocket launched from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 11:20 pm EDT Monday (0320 GMT Tuesday) carrying nine satellites on a commercial rideshare mission. The largest satellites were three imaging satellites, the Qilu-1 radar satellite and Qilu-4 and Foshan-1 optical satellites. Among the secondary payloads was NEO-1, developed by Shanghai ASES Spaceflight Technology Co. Ltd. for Shenzhen-based Origin Space. The spacecraft will test near Earth asteroid observation and prototype technology verification for space resource acquisition in low Earth orbit. The mission will carry out an active debris removal test using a net.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship completes suborbital test flight
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Blue Origin to auction off New Shepard seat
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

SpaceX launches more Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 12
SBIRS GEO-5 Encapsulated Ahead of Upcoming Launch
US Space Force — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
STPSat-6 safely arrives in Florida
US Space Force — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Vandenberg renaming to match Space Force designation
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list