spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Crew Dragon launched on first human orbital spaceflight from US in nine years
Posted: Sun, May 31, 2020, 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Demo-2 (NASA) A Crew Dragon spacecraft with two NASA astronauts on board reached orbit Saturday after a successful launch. The SpaceX Falcon 9 lifted off at 3:22 pm EDT (1922 GMT) from Launch Complex 39A at the Kennedy Space Center, placing the Crew Dragon spacecraft into orbit 12 minutes later. The spacecraft, dubbed "Endeavour" by the NASA astronauts, Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley, on board, is scheduled to dock with the International Space Station Sunday morning. The launch was the first human orbital launch from the US since the end of the shuttle program in July 2011, and the first commercially operated crewed vehicle to reach orbit. Once at the station, the Crew Dragon will remain there for up to four months so that Behnken and Hurley can support ISS operations, given there are currently only three people on board.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 5
Array of radio telescopes reveals explosion on the surface of a hot dead star
European Astronomical Society — 12:54 pm ET (1654 GMT)
Starliner Parachutes Perform Under Pressure
Boeing — 12:52 pm ET (1652 GMT)
Astronomy on Tap Going Virtual and Viral
European Astronomical Society — 12:51 pm ET (1651 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list