spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather scrubs Demo-2 launch attempt
Posted: Thu, May 28, 2020, 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)
Falcon 9 during Demo-2 launch scrub on May 27 (NASA) Weather forced NASA and SpaceX to scrub Wednesday's commercial crew launch, delaying it until at least Saturday. Launch controllers halted the countdown for the Demo-2 mission about 17 minutes before the scheduled 4:33 pm EDT (2033 GMT) liftoff when they concluded that weather conditions would not improve in time. There had been no technical issues with either the Falcon 9 rocket or Crew Dragon spacecraft during the countdown. The next launch attempt will be Saturday at 3:22 pm EDT (1922 GMT), although a forecast released after Wednesday's scrub projected only a 40% of favorable conditions. President Trump and Vice President Pence, who were both at the Kennedy Space Center for the launch, left shortly after it was scrubbed, but Trump tweeted later he would return for Saturday's attempt.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 5
Array of radio telescopes reveals explosion on the surface of a hot dead star
European Astronomical Society — 12:54 pm ET (1654 GMT)
Starliner Parachutes Perform Under Pressure
Boeing — 12:52 pm ET (1652 GMT)
Astronomy on Tap Going Virtual and Viral
European Astronomical Society — 12:51 pm ET (1651 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list