spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First LauncherOne mission fails to reach orbit
Posted: Thu, May 28, 2020, 6:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)
LauncherOne first launch (Virgin Orbit) Virgin Orbit's first LauncherOne rocket failed to make it to orbit Monday. The rocket, carried aloft by the company's Boeing 747 aircraft, was released at about 3:50 pm EDT (1950 GMT) off the coast of Southern California. The rocket's NewtonThree first stage engine ignited and fired for several seconds before an "anomaly" caused it to shut down, terminating the mission. The cause of the anomaly was not immediately known, company officials said late Monday, but they emphasized that the flight had been proceeding smoothly up until that point, including release and ignition. In a prelaunch briefing Saturday, Virgin Orbit lowered expectations for the launch attempt by noting that only about 50% of first launches of new rockets have been successful. The schedule for the next launch attempt will depend on the outcome of the investigation and any additional testing or modifications required, but before the launch the company had expected to perform one or two more LauncherOne missions this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 5
Array of radio telescopes reveals explosion on the surface of a hot dead star
European Astronomical Society — 12:54 pm ET (1654 GMT)
Starliner Parachutes Perform Under Pressure
Boeing — 12:52 pm ET (1652 GMT)
Astronomy on Tap Going Virtual and Viral
European Astronomical Society — 12:51 pm ET (1651 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list