spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts complete first AMS repair spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Nov 17, 2019, 9:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
ISS spacewalk on 2019 November 15 (NASA) Two astronauts performed the first in a series of spacewalks Friday to repair an International Space Station instrument. Andrew Morgan and Luca Parmitano started the spacewalk at 6:39 am EST (1139 GMT), which lasted six hours and 39 minutes. The two started work to repair the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer, an instrument on the station's truss whose cooling system is failing. The two astronauts were able to complete all their planned tasks to prepare the instrument for repairs, and completed a number of get-ahead tasks originally scheduled for the second spacewalk. NASA expects four spacewalks will be needed to replace the instrument's cooling system.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship prototype damaged in tanking test
Posted: Sat, Nov 23 10:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)

NASA adds five companies to CLPS program
Posted: Sat, Nov 23 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)

FCC to hold public auction of satellite C-band spectrum
Posted: Sat, Nov 23 10:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)

news links
Friday, December 6
America seeks faster ways to launch military satellites
The Economist — 5:02 am ET (1002 GMT)
Netflix and Virgin Galactic shine positive light on state
KOB-TV Albuquerque — 5:01 am ET (1001 GMT)
Lights spotted in sky over Adelaide and WA were SpaceX satellites, astronomer says
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 4:58 am ET (0958 GMT)
Dreams of Space, Skepticism and the Right
Splice Today — 4:57 am ET (0957 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list