spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches Chandryaan-2 lunar mission
Posted: Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 10:16 AM ET (1416 GMT)
India successfully launched its Chandrayaan-2 lunar mission this morning. The GSLV Mark 3 rocket lifted off at 5:13 am EDT (0913 GMT) Monday from Sriharikota, India, releasing the Chandrayaan-2 spacecraft into an elliptical transfer orbit 16 minutes later. The launch was scheduled for more than a week ago but postponed by what the Indian space agency ISRO described as a "technical snag" with the rocket. Chandrayaan-2 will gradually widen its transfer orbit, arriving at the moon in early September. The mission includes an orbiter and a lander, which will attempt a landing in the south polar regions of the moon.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 14
U.S. Space Policy: The United States Space Force
Voice of America — 10:06 am ET (1506 GMT)
Let There Be Light (but not too much)
WHYY Philadelphia — 9:35 am ET (1435 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list