spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Tiangong-2 module reenters
Posted: Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 10:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
China's Tiangong-2 module reentered over the South Pacific July 19 as planned. Tiangong-2 reentered over the South Pacific Ocean Uninhabited Area at 9:06 am EDT (1306 GMT) using its own propulsion, following an engine burn a day earlier to lower the spacecraft’s perigee. The maneuver follows the high-profile and uncontrolled re-entry of Tiangong-1 in April 2018, having lost contact with and control of the experimental space lab in 2016. Both spacecraft were designed as steppingstones for developing and verifying technologies for larger 20-metric-ton modules for the planned Chinese Space Station, which China plans to complete in the early 2020s.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX and ULA win military launch contracts
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:15 PM ET (2115 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink, BlackSky satellites
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:09 PM ET (2109 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:07 PM ET (2107 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 8
Leaf Line Expands With a New GS in Santa Maria, Azores
Leaf Space — 8:30 pm ET (0030 GMT)
Surprisingly Young Galaxy Breaks Low-Oxygen Record
Keck Observatory — 8:29 pm ET (0029 GMT)
CfA Scientists Discover Mysterious Spiral Structures around a "Planet Factory"
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics — 8:27 pm ET (0027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list