spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Fri, Dec 26, 2014, 11:30 AM ET (1630 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket launched what is widely believed to be a Russian military electronic intelligence satellite on Thursday. The Soyuz-2.1b rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 10:01 am EST Wednesday (0301 GMT, 6:01 am Moscow time Thursday) and placed the satellite into orbit. Russian officials did not describe the satellite's mission, or even give its name, beyond it being a communications satellite. However, Western observers widely believe the satellite is a Lotos-S satellite designed to eavesdrop on communications.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin, SpaceX, ULA win military launch contracts
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)

Voyager 1 returning science data again
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)

ISS spacewalks postponed
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:11 AM ET (1411 GMT)

news links


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list