spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Indian spacecraft enters orbit around Mars
Posted: Wed, Sep 24, 2014, 8:19 AM ET (1219 GMT)
India Mars Orbiter Mission spacecraft illus. (ISRO) India's first mission to Mars successfully entered orbit around the Red Planet early Wednesday. The Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM) spacecraft performed a 24-minute engine burn that started at 9:47 pm EDT Tuesday (0147 GMT, 7:17 am IST Wednesday) to slow the spacecraft down and enter an elliptical capture orbit around the planet. Officials with the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) said the capture maneuver went as planned and the spacecraft is in good health. MOM is India's first Mars mission, and its successful arrival at Mars makes India only the fourth entity, after the US, the former Soviet Union, and ESA, to place a spacecraft into Mars orbit. MOM arrived at Mars just two days after NASA's MAVEN spacecraft also entered orbit around the planet.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
Space Force Poised to Get a New Plans and Programs Chief
Air Force Magazine — 6:06 am ET (1006 GMT)
Rocket Lab launches Nasa satellite to the Moon
New Zealand Herald — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list