spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


MAVEN enters Mars orbit
Posted: Mon, Sep 22, 2014, 9:32 AM ET (1332 GMT)
MAVEN spacecraft illustration (NASA) NASA's MAVEN Mars spacecraft, on a mission to understand what happened to the Martian atmosphere, entered orbit around Mars Sunday night as planned. The spacecraft performed a 34-minute burn to place the spacecraft into an elliptical capture orbit around the planet, with confirmation of the maneuver's success arriving at Earth at around 10:30 pm EDT Sunday (0230 GMT Monday). MAVEN will perform several maneuvers to lower itself into its planned orbit, with regular science operations scheduled to begin in November. MAVEN, launched last November, will study the planet's upper atmosphere in an effort to understand what happened to the water the planet had early in its history, and how the planet's atmosphere has evolved since then.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
Space Force Poised to Get a New Plans and Programs Chief
Air Force Magazine — 6:06 am ET (1006 GMT)
Rocket Lab launches Nasa satellite to the Moon
New Zealand Herald — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list