spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches several satellites
Posted: Wed, Jul 9, 2014, 8:44 AM ET (1244 GMT)
Soyuz 2-1b launch of Meteor-M2 (Roscosmos) A Soyuz rocket placed several spacecraft, including a Russian weather satellite and a commercial imaging satellite, into orbit on Tuesday. The Soyuz 2-1b rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 11:58 am EDT (1558 GMT, 9:58 pm local time) Tuesday and placed its payload of satellites into Sun-synchronous orbits. The primary payload of the launch was Meteor M2, a 2,778-kilogram Russian weather satellite. The rocket also carried several secondary payloads, including SkySat-2, the second in a series of small commercial remote sensing satellites built by Skybox Imaging, a company being acquired by Google. The Soyuz's payload also featured TechDemoSat-1, a technology demonstration satellite built by Surrey Space Technology Ltd.,; Relek, a Russian ionospheric science satellite; and UKube-1, the first satellite built by a Scottish company, Clyde Space.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list