spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First Angara launch a success
Posted: Thu, Jul 10, 2014, 8:28 AM ET (1228 GMT)
Angara-1.2PP first launch (Russian MoD) Russian officials said Wednesday that the first launch of its long-awaited Angara rocket, on a suborbital test flight, was a success. The Angara-1.2PP rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 8:00 am EDT (1200 GMT, 4 pm Moscow time) Wednesday. The two-stage rocket flew a suborbital trajectory, hitting its target on a test range in the Kamchatka Peninsula in far eastern Russia about 25 minutes after liftoff. Russian officials said the launch, which was not broadcast live, was a success. A previous launch attempt June 27 was scrubbed in the final minutes of the countdown because of a leaking valve. The launch was a major milestone for the long-delayed Angara program, which will feature a modular series of vehicles using cryogenic propellants.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list