spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Israel launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Thu, Apr 10, 2014, 8:48 AM ET (1248 GMT)
Shavit launch of Ofeq 10 (Israeli MOD) The Israeli military launches the latest in a series of small reconnaissance satellites late Wednesday. A Shavit rocket lifted off from the Palmachim Air Foce Base in central Israel at 3:15 pm EDT (1915 GMT, 10:15 pm local time) Wednesday and placed the Ofeq 10 satellite into low Earth orbit. The satellite is equipped with a synthetic aperture radar payload designed to provide imagery in all weather and lighting conditions. The satellite is the latest in a series of small optical and radar reconnaissance satellites developed and launched by Israel. The launch was also the first by Israel since the launch of the Ofeq 9 satellite in June 2010.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list