spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches NRO satellite
Posted: Fri, Apr 11, 2014, 7:25 AM ET (1125 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of NROL-67 (ULA) An Atlas 5 successfully launched a classified satellite for the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) on Thursday. The Atlas 5 541 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 1:45 pm EDT (1745 GMT) on a mission designated NROL-67. Coverage of the launch ended a few minutes after liftoff, although an Air Force press release later Thursday called the launch a success. While the NRO hasn't released information about the satellite launched on Thursday, some experts believe the launch carried a new signals intelligence satellite that will operate from geosynchronous orbit. The launch had been scheduled for late March but was postponed by the failure of a tracking radar at Cape Canaveral that also delayed the launch of a Falcon 9. That launch has been rescheduled for April 14.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list