spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches experimental satellite
Posted: Mon, Nov 25, 2013, 8:34 PM ET (0134 GMT)
Long March 2D launch of SW-5 satellite (Xinhua) A Chinese Long March rocket placed a small experimental satellite into orbit on Monday. The Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 9:12 pm EST Sunday (0212 GMT, 10:12 am Beijing time Monday) and placed the Shiyan Weixing-5 satellite into orbit. Chinese officials provided few details about the satellite, other than it would be used for technological experiments and environmental surveys. Western observers speculate the satellite could be used for reconnaissance or other military applications.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, September 28


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list