spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Satellite servicing vehicle docks with Intelsat satellite
Posted: Sat, Feb 29 8:03 AM ET (1303 GMT)
Northrop Grumman's satellite servicing spacecraft has successfully docked with an Intelsat satellite, the company announced Wednesday. Northrop's Mission Extension Vehicle (MEV) 1 docked...

Astronomers discover temporary "mini-moon" orbiting Earth
Posted: Sat, Feb 29 7:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
Astronomers have discovered a small, temporary second moon orbiting the Earth. The object, 2020 CD3, was seen in mid-February and may be a small...

Virgin Galactic suggests further delays in start of SpaceShipTwo commercial flights
Posted: Sat, Feb 29 7:51 AM ET (1251 GMT)
The first commercial SpaceShipTwo flights by Virgin Galactic may slip again as the company takes a step toward reopening ticket sales. The company, publicly traded...

Lockheed Martin to acquire Vector satellite assets
Posted: Sat, Feb 29 7:43 AM ET (1243 GMT)
Lockheed Martin will acquire the satellite technology assets of Vector after no competing bids were submitted. Lawyers handling the Chapter 11 bankruptcy of Vector said...

NASA making new attempt to get InSight probe into Martian surface
Posted: Sat, Feb 29 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
NASA is planning a new approach to get an instrument on its InSight lander into the Martian surface. The agency said Feb. 21 it will...

Ariane 5 launches two geostationary satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 22 8:19 AM ET (1319 GMT)
An Ariane 5 launched two geostationary orbit satellites for Japan and South Korea Tuesday. The rocket lifted off at 5:18 pm EST (2218 GMT)...

Blue Origin opens Alabama rocket factory
Posted: Sat, Feb 22 8:18 AM ET (1318 GMT)
Blue Origin formally opened Monday the Alabama factory where it will produce rocket engines. The Huntsville factory, which cost more than $200 million to build,...

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites, fails to recover booster
Posted: Sat, Feb 22 8:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)
SpaceX launched another set of Starlink satellites Monday but failed to land its booster. The Falcon 9 lifted off on schedule at 10:05 am...

Antares launches Cygnus to ISS
Posted: Sat, Feb 22 8:16 AM ET (1316 GMT)
A Cygnus cargo spacecraft is en route to the International Space Station after a launch Saturday. A Northrop Grumman Antares rocket lifted off from Wallops...

Rocket Lab wins contract for lunar cubesat launch
Posted: Sat, Feb 22 8:14 AM ET (1314 GMT)
Rocket Lab has won a NASA contract for the launch of a cubesat mission to the moon. A Rocket Lab Electron rocket will launch NASA'...



news in brief
OneWeb files for Chapter 11 bankruptcy
Posted: Sun, Mar 29 9:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

SpaceX wins Gateway cargo contract
Posted: Sun, Mar 29 9:39 AM ET (1339 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-6
Posted: Fri, Mar 27 2:13 PM ET (1813 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, March 31


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list