spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)
NASA has selected four finalists for its next round of the Discovery program of planetary science missions. The four concepts announced Thursday include two missions...

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)
Small GEO satellite manufacturer Astranis has raised $90 million as its first satellite nears launch. The company announced Thursday that it raised $90 million in...

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)
Virgin Galactic's SpaceShipTwo has arrived in New Mexico for a final series of flight tests. The suborbital spaceplane, named VSS Unity, was ferried from...

Astroscale wins contract for orbital debris removal mission
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)
Astroscale has won a contract from the Japanese space agency JAXA to inspect a discarded rocket stage. The contract, whose value was not disclosed, would...

Spaceflight Industries to sell rideshare business
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:20 AM ET (1320 GMT)
Spaceflight Industries announced Tuesday it will sell its satellite rideshare launch business to two Japanese companies. Mitsui & Co., Ltd. and Yamasa Co., Ltd. will acquire...

Rocket Lab launches NRO payload
Posted: Sat, Feb 1 8:30 AM ET (1330 GMT)
Rocket Lab launched a classified payload for the National Reconnaissance Office Thursday night. The company's Electron rocket lifted off from its New Zealand launch...

SpaceX launches fourth set of Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 1 8:28 AM ET (1328 GMT)
SpaceX successfully launched a new batch of Starlink satellites Wednesday. The company's Falcon 9 rocket lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 9:07 am...

Two defunct satellites narrowly avoid collision in low Earth orbit
Posted: Sat, Feb 1 8:27 AM ET (1327 GMT)
Two satellites made a close pass to each other but did not collide Wednesday evening. The IRAS astronomy satellite passed close to the GGSE-4...

Boeing to take $410 million earnings charge because of commercial crew
Posted: Sat, Feb 1 8:26 AM ET (1326 GMT)
Boeing said Wednesday it would take a $410 million charge related to its commercial crew program. The company said the primary reason for the charge...

Astronauts perform spacewalk to complete AMS repairs
Posted: Sat, Feb 1 8:25 AM ET (1325 GMT)
Spacewalking astronauts wrapped up repairs to the International Space Station's Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) experiment Jan. 25. Andrew Morgan and Luca Parmitano spent six...



news in brief
Crew Dragon docks with ISS
Posted: Tue, Jun 2 11:48 AM ET (1548 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Tue, Jun 2 11:46 AM ET (1546 GMT)


news links
Wednesday, June 3
Large Virgin Galactic Stake to Be Offered Overnight
Bloomberg News — 6:17 am ET (1017 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list