spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab launches NRO payload
Posted: Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 8:30 AM ET (1330 GMT)
Electron launch of NROL-151 mission (Rocket Lab) Rocket Lab launched a classified payload for the National Reconnaissance Office Thursday night. The company's Electron rocket lifted off from its New Zealand launch site at 9:56 pm EST Thursday (0256 GMT, 3:56 pm local time Friday) and placed into orbit a payload known as NROL-151. Neither Rocket Lab nor the NRO released details about the payload, including its mission. Rocket Lab said the rocket's first stage survived re-entry and remained intact until reaching the ocean as the company works to eventually recover and reuse those stages. The launch is the first of up to a dozen planned by the company this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Friday, February 21
SpaceX wants to build its Mars Starship at Port of L.A. — again
Los Angeles Times — 5:06 am ET (1006 GMT)
Spacewatch: Solar Orbiter sends first data back to Earth
The Guardian — 5:04 am ET (1004 GMT)
International Space Station Hosts Small Sat Launch Flurry
Aviation Week — 5:02 am ET (1002 GMT)
Blue Origin Opens Engine Factory in Alabama
Aviation Week — 5:01 am ET (1001 GMT)

Thursday, February 20


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list