spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Boeing drops out of DARPA spaceplane program
Posted: Sat, Jan 25 11:33 AM ET (1633 GMT)
Boeing has dropped out of a DARPA program to develop an experimental reusable spaceplane. DARPA said Wednesday that Boeing informed the agency it was immediately...

DirecTV satellite in danger of exploding
Posted: Sat, Jan 25 11:30 AM ET (1630 GMT)
DirecTV fears one of its satellites could explode because of a battery malfunction. The company informed the FCC its Spaceway-1 satellite suffered an unexplained...

Firefly Aerospace suffers anomaly in static-fire test
Posted: Sat, Jan 25 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)
Firefly Aerospace reported a "test anomaly" during an attempted static-fire test Wednesday of the small launch vehicle it is developing. Law enforcement and fire...

Astronauts complete battery repairs to ISS
Posted: Wed, Jan 22 10:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)
Astronauts completed the replacement of batteries in the International Space Station's power system during a spacewalk Monday. Christina Koch and Jessica Meir spent nearly...

SpaceX performs Crew Dragon in-flight abort test
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:45 PM ET (0145 GMT)
SpaceX successfully carried out an in-flight abort test of its Crew Dragon spacecraft Sunday. A Falcon 9 carrying the spacecraft lifted off from the...

Arianespace launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:44 PM ET (0144 GMT)
Arianespace started a busy 2020 with the launch Thursday of two communications satellites. An Ariane 5 lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 4:05...

Eutelsat loses more than half of capacity on new satellite
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:42 PM ET (0142 GMT)
Eutelsat said it's lost more than half the capacity of a satellite launched in October. The company announced Friday that the Eutelsat 5 West...

China launches experimental 5G communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:41 PM ET (0141 GMT)
China launched an experimental 5G communications satellite Wednesday night. A Kuaizhou-1A solid launch vehicle lifted off from a mobile platform at the Jiuquan Satellite...

China launches small satellites
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:40 PM ET (0140 GMT)
China launched several smallsats Tuesday night. A Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 9:53 pm EST (0253...

Maxar to sell MDA
Posted: Tue, Dec 31 1:44 PM ET (1844 GMT)
Maxar Technologies is selling its Canadian subsidiary for C$1 billion (US$765 million). Maxar announced Monday it will sell MDA to a consortium of...



news in brief
Crew Dragon docks with ISS
Posted: Tue, Jun 2 11:48 AM ET (1548 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Tue, Jun 2 11:46 AM ET (1546 GMT)


news links
Wednesday, June 3
Large Virgin Galactic Stake to Be Offered Overnight
Bloomberg News — 6:17 am ET (1017 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list