spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches Dragon cargo spacecraft to ISS
Posted: Sun, Jul 28 10:19 AM ET (1419 GMT)
SpaceX successfully launched a Dragon cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station Thursday. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 6:01 pm...

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sun, Jul 28 10:18 AM ET (1418 GMT)
China launched a set of reconnaissance satellites Friday. A Long March 2C lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:57 pm EDT...

Chinese startup becomes country's first private entity to place satellite in orbit
Posted: Sun, Jul 28 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)
A Chinese startup became the first private company in the country to place a payload into orbit Thursday. The Hyperbola-1 rocket from iSpace lifted...

India launches Chandryaan-2 lunar mission
Posted: Sun, Jul 28 10:16 AM ET (1416 GMT)
India successfully launched its Chandrayaan-2 lunar mission this morning. The GSLV Mark 3 rocket lifted off at 5:13 am EDT (0913 GMT) Monday...

Tiangong-2 module reenters
Posted: Sun, Jul 28 10:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
China's Tiangong-2 module reentered over the South Pacific July 19 as planned. Tiangong-2 reentered over the South Pacific Ocean Uninhabited Area at...

Galileo resumes service after extended outage
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)
Europe's Galileo satellite navigation system is back in service after an extended outage. The European Global Navigation Satellite Systems Agency said Thursday that it...

Bridenstine says NASA still considering 2033 human Mars mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)
NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine says he won't rule out a first human mission to Mars in 2033. Bridenstine said in a call with reporters...

SpaceX blames Crew dragon accident on faulty valve
Posted: Sat, Jul 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)
SpaceX said Monday that an accident in April that destroyed a Crew Dragon spacecraft during ground tests was caused by a faulty valve. The ongoing...

Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)
A Proton rocket successfully launched a long-delayed X-ray astronomy spacecraft Saturday. The Proton lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 8:30 a....

Vega launch of UAE satellite fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:17 PM ET (2017 GMT)
A Vega rocket carrying an Emirati satellite failed minutes after liftoff Wednesday night. The Vega rocket lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 9:53...



news in brief
SpaceX and ULA win military launch contracts
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:15 PM ET (2115 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink, BlackSky satellites
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:09 PM ET (2109 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Aug 8 5:07 PM ET (2107 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 8
Leaf Line Expands With a New GS in Santa Maria, Azores
Leaf Space — 8:30 pm ET (0030 GMT)
Surprisingly Young Galaxy Breaks Low-Oxygen Record
Keck Observatory — 8:29 pm ET (0029 GMT)
CfA Scientists Discover Mysterious Spiral Structures around a "Planet Factory"
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics — 8:27 pm ET (0027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list