spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA reassigns leadership of exploration programs
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:16 PM ET (2016 GMT)
NASA shook up the leadership of its exploration program Wednesday evening, reassigning two top officials. In a memo, NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine said that Bill...

Virgin Orbit performs LauncherOne drop test
Posted: Sat, Jul 13 8:03 PM ET (0003 GMT)
Virgin Orbit performed a successful drop test of its LauncherOne rocket Wednesday. A full-sized but inert version of the rocket was released from the...

Virgin Galactic to go public in merger with investment company
Posted: Sat, Jul 13 8:01 PM ET (0001 GMT)
Virgin Galactic announced a deal early Tuesday to merge with an investment company, raising several hundred million. Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp. will take a...

SpaceX wins NASA launch contract
Posted: Sat, Jul 13 8:00 PM ET (0000 GMT)
SpaceX won a contract to launch a small NASA mission originally designed to go on a much smaller rocket. NASA announced Monday it will launch...

Soyuz launches weather satellite and smallsats
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 10:20 AM ET (1420 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket launched a weather satellite and more than 30 smallsats early Friday. The Soyuz-2.1b rocket lifted off from the Vostochny Cosmodrome...

Northrop Grumman, SpaceX win contracts for two communications satellites
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 10:19 AM ET (1419 GMT)
Northrop Grumman and SpaceX have won contracts to build and launch two communications satellites for Space Norway that will carry payloads for three customers. Space...

Parachutes damaged in test of ExoMars 2020 descent system
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 10:18 AM ET (1418 GMT)
ESA suffered a setback in the development of its ExoMars 2020 mission when parachutes were damaged in a recent test. The agency said that during...

Orion abort system test a success
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)
NASA performed a successful in-flight test of the Orion spacecraft's abort system Tuesday morning. The refurbished Peacekeeper booster motor carrying a boilerplate Orion...

SpaceX loses contact with five percent of new Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 10:16 AM ET (1416 GMT)
SpaceX says it has lost contact with three of the 60 Starlink satellites it launched in May. In a statement, SpaceX said 45 of the...

Rocket Lab launches several smallsats
Posted: Sun, Jun 30 10:34 AM ET (1434 GMT)
A Rocket Lab Electron launched a group of seven satellites for payload aggregator Spaceflight on Saturday. The Electron lifted off from the company's New...



news in brief
Rocket Lab launches Electron in reusability test
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft on ISS mission
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:04 AM ET (1604 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches CRS-19 Dragon mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 8 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 14
U.S. Space Policy: The United States Space Force
Voice of America — 10:06 am ET (1506 GMT)
Let There Be Light (but not too much)
WHYY Philadelphia — 9:35 am ET (1435 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list