spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches fifth set of Iridium Next satellites
Posted: Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 8:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Iridium-5 (SpaceX) SpaceX launched the fifth set of 10 Iridium satellites March 30. The Falcon 9 lifted off at 10:13 am EDT (1413 GMT) from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California and released the 10 Iridium Next satellites into their planned orbits about an hour later. The usual webcast of the launch was cut off about nine minutes after liftoff, which SpaceX said was due to a lack of a NOAA remote sensing license to provide imagery of the Earth from space. Three more Falcon 9 launches are planned through this summer to deploy the remaining 25 satellites in the Iridium Next system.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Friday, October 19
A ‘Moon Village’ Is Taking Shape
Aviation Week — 5:27 am ET (0927 GMT)
A Look At Projects Staking A Future On The Moon
Aviation Week — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
DARPA Awards LEO Constellation Contract
Aviation Week — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
Algorithm Seeks To Advance Space Communications
Aviation Week — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list