spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches second group of Iridium satellites
Posted: Sun, Jul 2, 2017, 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of second Iridium NEXT satellites (SpaceX) A SpaceX Falcon 9 successfully launched ten Iridium NEXT satellites June 25. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, at 4:25 pm EDT (2025 GMT) and deployed the 10 satellites into low Earth orbit an hour later. The rocket's first stage, sporting upgraded "grid fins" used to guide it to its landing site, successfully landed on a drone ship in the Pacific Ocean. The launch was the second of eight planned by Iridium to deploy its next-generation satellite constellation.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 19
Northrop Grumman to acquire rival Orbital in $9.2bn deal
Financial Times — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman to buy aerospace manufacturer Orbital ATK
Washington Post — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman acquires Orbital ATK in $9.2B deal
Flightglobal.com — 6:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
Global security challenges spur $7.8B Northrop, Orbital merger
Washington Business Journal — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list