spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sun, Jul 2, 2017, 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of GSAT-17 and Hellas-Sat 3 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 launched two communications satellites June 28 in the rocket's 80th consecutive successful launch. The Ariane 5 lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 5:15 pm EDT (2115 GMT) and deployed the Hellas-Sat 3/Inmarsat S EAN and GSAT-17 satellites into geosynchronous transfer orbits. Hellas-Sat 3/Inmarsat S EAN is a "condosat" with payloads for both Hellas-Sat and Inmarsat, while GSAT-17 is a communications satellite for the Indian space agency ISRO. The launch was the fourth Arianespace mission in eight weeks after a general strike in French Guiana shut down the spaceport there for more than a month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 19
Northrop Grumman to acquire rival Orbital in $9.2bn deal
Financial Times — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman to buy aerospace manufacturer Orbital ATK
Washington Post — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman acquires Orbital ATK in $9.2B deal
Flightglobal.com — 6:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
Global security challenges spur $7.8B Northrop, Orbital merger
Washington Business Journal — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list