spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 25, 2017, 9:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)
Soyuz launch of Cosmos 2519 (Russian MoD) A Soyuz rocket placed a classified Russian military satellite into orbit June 23. The Soyuz-2.1v rocket lifted off at 3:04 pm EDT (1904 GMT) from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia. It placed into orbit a spacecraft designated Cosmos 2519, about which Russian officials provided no details. Outside observers believe it may be the first in a series of geodetic satellites to accurately measure the Earth's gravitational field for more accurate targeting of missiles.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 19
Northrop Grumman to acquire rival Orbital in $9.2bn deal
Financial Times — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman to buy aerospace manufacturer Orbital ATK
Washington Post — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman acquires Orbital ATK in $9.2B deal
Flightglobal.com — 6:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
Global security challenges spur $7.8B Northrop, Orbital merger
Washington Business Journal — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list