spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Proton launches two Russian satellites
Posted: Sat, Nov 3, 2012, 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)
Proton M launch of Luch-4B and Yamal-300K (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket placed two Russian communications satellites into orbit on Saturday. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 5:04 pm EDT Friday (2104 GMT Friday, 3:04 am local time Saturday). The rocket's Breeze M upper stage released the Luch-5B and Yamal-300K satellites into geosynchronous transfer orbits a little more than nine hours after liftoff. Luch-5B is a communications satellite that will be used by the Russian government as a data relay for other spacecraft, while Yamal-300K is a communications satellite owned by Gazprom Space Systems, providing C- and Ku-band coverage across Russia.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane launches fifth and final ATV spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jul 30 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 30
United Launch Alliance launches trio of defense satellites
Denver Business Journal — 7:05 am ET (1105 GMT)
Aerojet Rocketdyne part of space 'neighborhood watch' satellite mission
Sacramento Business Journal — 7:04 am ET (1104 GMT)
Virgin vows to fly for first time later this year
Albuquerque Business First — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Virgin Galactic moves toward spaceflight
KRQE-TV Albuquerque, NM — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Ottawa native shortlisted for one-way trip to Mars
Metro Canada — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list