spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

ISS astronauts complete spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Nov 2, 2012, 6:33 AM ET (1033 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2012 November 1 (NASA) Two International Space Station astronauts venture outside the station for more than six and a half hours Thursday to support efforts to isolate an ammonia leak in a radiator. Suni Williams and Aki Hoshide completed their 6-hour, 38-minute spacewalk at 3:07 pm EDT (1907 GMT), working on a radiator on the P6 segment of the station's truss. The two rerouted ammonia coolant to a spare radiator to see if that stops a leak of ammonia that has been detected from that radiator. If the leak stops, station managers will decide whether to leave the system in place like it is or replace the faulty radiator; additional troubleshooting will be needed if the leak continues. The spacewalk was the seventh for Williams, whose 50 hours and 40 minutes of cumulative EVA time is the most for a female astronaut. Hoshide was on his third EVA, and 21 hours and 23 minutes of total spacewalk time is a record for a Japanese astronaut.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Proton launch postponed
Posted: Thu, Nov 27 9:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)

3-D printer tested on ISS
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 7:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)

Astrobotic, CMU unveil lunar rover
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 6:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 27
Proton postpones Astra 2G launch
Broadband TV News — 9:08 am ET (1408 GMT)
A rocket landing in Tortuguero?
Tico Times (Costa Rica) — 9:06 am ET (1406 GMT)
Lockheed Martin Opens Commercial Space Headquarters In Denver, CO
Business Facilities — 9:03 am ET (1403 GMT)
Earth DNA survives the extremes of space
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 9:00 am ET (1400 GMT)
DNA 'can survive re-entry into Earth's atmosphere'
The Daily Telegraph — 8:58 am ET (1358 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list