spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Atlantis moved to KSC visitors center
Posted: Sat, Nov 3, 2012, 2:30 PM ET (1830 GMT)
Atlantis being moved to KSCVC (NASA/KSC) NASA transferred the space shuttle Atlantis to the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex in a ceremony Friday, an event effectively marked the end of the shuttle retirement process. Atlantis was towed from the Vehicle Assembly Building at KSC to the center in a day-long procession that included a ceremony where NASA formally transferred the title of the orbiter to the company that operates the center. The center is in the process of constructing a building within which to display the orbiter; that building will open next July. Atlantis was the last of NASA's four orbiters to be given to the museums that will host them in retirement. the Smithsonian's National Air and Space Museum obtained Discovery in April, the Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum received Enterprise in June, and last month the California Science Center in Los Angeles received Endeavour.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
GAO report warns SLS first launch date could slip
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)

Russian research satellite unresponsive to commands
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)

Progress launches, arrives at ISS
Posted: Thu, Jul 24 8:09 AM ET (1209 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 26
Newt Gingrich’s Space Nightmare Almost Came True in 2012
National Journal — 9:00 am ET (1300 GMT)
Saving Two American Astronauts From Russian Blackmail
The Daily Caller — 8:58 am ET (1258 GMT)
No, Earth Wasn’t Nearly Destroyed By a 2012 Solar Storm
Scientific American — 8:56 am ET (1256 GMT)
Martian Soil Salts May Make Water Ice All Wet
Scientific American — 8:55 am ET (1255 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list